Citylights 


This evening, as I travel

Halfway across the city
With the gentle drops of rain
Kissing the window
Reflecting the numerous lights
Of the buzzing town

Lights that stand atop silver poles 
Lights that guide speeding vehicles 
Lights of skyscrapers and of humble huts
I gaze up at the embracing sky 
With just a handful of stars 
Smiling mockingly at the land below 

Undiminishing and overpowering 
I can’t look away as they whisper 
And I realise 
They are the truth 
And all that I  see before me;
The enticing shine
Are mere, blatant lies
Before the glow of the universe 
Before the stardust that makes us, us

Leave a Reply

