The Seven Virtues !! (The cure)

As said in my last post ( that we’ll be focusing on the cure of conducting these sins

Power does not come from self to change the heart. On the contrary, the verse of Ezekiel 36:26-27 says, “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them.”  clearly points out that God alone gives you a new heart and causes you to walk in His ways. As this event becomes a reality in your life, the seven deadly sins of gluttony, envy, sloth, wrath, pride, lust, and greed will lose their power in your life. With the indwelling Holy Spirit in your life, you will instead desire to live a life based upon the principles of the Bible.


The seven virtues were originally defined in the poem, Psychomachia, by Aurelius Clemens Prudentius, a Christian governor who died around 410 A.D. Because of the poem’s prevalence the concept and idea of the seven virtues spread throughout Europe. The following is a listing of the seven virtues and how they cure each of the seven deadly sins:

  1. Kindness = cures envy by placing the desire to help others above the need to supersede them
  2. Temperance = cures the gluttony by implanting the desire to be healthy, therefore making one fit to serve others
  3. Charity or love = cures greed by putting the desire to help others above storing up treasure for oneself
  4. Chastity or self control = cures lust by controlling passion and leveraging that energy for the welfare of others
  5. Humility = cures pride by removing by removing the person’s ego and boastfulness, therefore allowing the attitude of service
  6. Diligence or zeal = cures slothfulness by placing the best interest of others above the life of ease and relaxation
  7. Patience = cures wrath by taking time to understand the needs and desires of others before acting or speaking

Adding to the statement, there are many times where the the seven corpal works of mercy drives oneself to the heaven which includes things you can do to help others : feed the hungry, give water to the thirsty, give shelter to strangers, clothe the naked, visit the sick, minister to prisoners and bury the dead.


One thought on “The Seven Virtues !! (The cure)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s